Three Elements that Make a great Martial Artist (my opinion based view)

Ryan Bird
6 min readJun 12, 2020

Everyone has their own reason for starting Martial Arts. I started training so I could gain the confidence to deal with my child hood bully. Some train for health, some for sport, some for the philosophical and “mystical” end of Martial Arts. There is an endless amount of reasons to train in Martial Arts. I have trained for over three decades now and have come across many different views as to what makes a great Martial Artist.

Some people who train in Martial Arts only train on one level with one goal in mind. They are searching for a specific outcome. “I only want to get a black belt”, “ I only need to train enough to understand the concepts your style has to offer “. These are a couple examples of what people have said to me directly when I asked them why they joined Martial Arts. I train mainly in Isshin-Ryu Karate from Okinawa. Based on both Go Ju Ryu and Shorin-Ryu based principle elements. I have studied in Kobu-Do (weapons) and Vovinam ( the Vietnamese acrobatic style of Martial Arts) and BJJ.

Over my many years training I have learned under many different Sensei. What I took away from each individual varied. Not all of them were great Martial Artists though, but, in my opinion some, were.

--

--

Ryan Bird

I am a family man, I write, I train in Isshin-Ryu Karate, I love life, I enjoy mountain biking, running and gaming.